RESNA Announces New Board of Directors

RESNA has announced its new board of directors, appointed by new RESNA President Alex Mihailidis.

The new board members are as follows:

-- Paul J. Schwartz, MSIE, ATP, RET, who has been appointed treasurer and will also chair the finance committee. Schwartz is a rehabilitation engineer and the assistive technology manager for the Stout Vocational Rehabilitation Institute at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

-- R. Lee Kirby, M.D., FRCPC, is a professor in the division of physical medicine and rehabilitation in the department of medicine at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

-- Roger O. Smith, Ph.D., has been appointed to the executive committee as board member at large. Smith is a professor in the department of occupational science and technology, and director of the Rehabilitation Research Design and Disability Center (R2D2) at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

They join current board members Patricia Bahr, MSE, ATP, RET; Jennifer Boger, PEng, MASc, BASc; Gerry Dickerson, CRTS, ATP; Heidi Horstmann Koester, Ph.D.; Lauren Rosen, PT, MPT, MSMS, ATP/SMS; Mark Schmeler, Ph.D., OTR/L, ATP; Richard Simpson, Ph.D., ATP; and Ed Steinfeld, D. Arch., AIA.

Ray Grott, ATP, RET, is currently RESNA's president elect, and Jerry Weisman, MSME, ATP, RET, is immediate past president. Jamie Arasz Prioli, ATP, is RESNA's treasurer.

Mihailidis also made new committee assignments.

Glenn Hedman, PE, ATP, RET, has become chair of the Assistive Technology Standards Board. Hedman is a clinical associate professor and coordinator of the Assistive Technology Institute at the Department of Disability and Human Development, College of Applied Health Sciences, University of Illinois-Chicago.

Nathan Moon, Ph.D., is now the chair of the government affairs committee. Moon is associate director for research at the Center for Advanced Communications Policy at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Alan Cantor, MA, will serve as chair of the special interest groups committees. Cantor is a disability and accommodations consultant based at the University of Toronto.

Additionally, Grott will head the bylaws committee and long-range planning committee. Weisman has become chair of the nominating committee due to his position as immediate past president.

About the Author

Laurie Watanabe is the editor of Mobility Management. She can be reached at

Mobility Management Podcast