RESNA Announces 2019 Award Winners

The Rehabilitation Engineering & Assistive Technology Society of North America (RESNA) announced its 2019 award winners during its annual conference.

The winners are as follows:

• RESNA Fellow: Michelle Lange, OTR/L, ABDA, ATP/SMS

• RESNA Honorary Fellow: Chapal Khasnabis

• Samuel McFarland Memorial Mentorship Award: Travis Tallman, ATP

• Leadership Award: National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association (NMEDA)

• Emerging Leaders: Perry Loh, ATP; Sue Redepenning, ATP

• Distinguished Service Awards: Seanna Kringen, MS; John Anschutz, ATP, RET

• Colin McLaurin Distinguished Lectureship: Bill Peterson, MS

• Certificates of Appreciation: David Ross, MSEE, M.Ed. (for Continued Service); John Anschutz, ATP, RET (for Board Service); Doug Gayton, MMM, CD, ATP, RESNA Fellow (for Board Service); Vince Schiappa, MS (for Board Service); Cher Smith, M.Sc., OT, Reg (NS) (for Board Service); Seanna Kringen, MS (for Standards Committee Officers); Maureen Linden, MS (for Governance Committee Officers); and Roger Smith, Ph.D., OT, FAOTO, RESNA Fellow (for Governance Committee Officers).

“RESNA congratulates all of the awardees, and thanks them for their contributions to the field of rehabilitation engineering and assistive technology, and for their service to the organization,” RESNA said in a news announcement.

The awards were announced as part of RESNA’s annual conference, which took place this year in Toronto at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

RESNA’s meeting was part of RehabWeek, which brought together six international conferences focused on rehabilitation technology. The other five participating conferences in 2019 were the International Functional Electrical Stimulation Society, the International Conference on Rehabilitation Robotics, the International Industry Society in Advanced Rehabilitation Technology, the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine, and the International Society for Prosthetics and Orthotics. Attendees from 60 countries were expected to participate.

About the Author

Laurie Watanabe is the editor of Mobility Management. She can be reached at

Jobs from Indeed

Subscribe to eMobility

Mobility Management's free email newsletter keeping you up-to-date and informed.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy