NRRTS Announces Award Winners at Annual Meeting

While the National Registry of Rehabilitation Technology Suppliers (NRRTS) holds virtual NRRTS at Night Happy Hours every Wednesday evening, its July 27 event was something special.

Executive Director Weesie Walker led the Zoom event, which combined NRRTS’s annual open meeting with a celebration of the organization’s 30th anniversary.

The meeting started with remembrances from Adrienne Berger and Hymie Pogir, among the industry veterans instrumental in envisioning and creating an organization that would elevate Rehab Technology Suppliers and turn their passion for providing complex seating and wheeled mobility into a profession with certification, standards, and continuing education.

Today, Walker noted, NRRTS has more than 100 educational Webinars available on demand, presents more than 20 new Webinars each year, and provides continuing education units through those programs, as well as its Directions magazine.

NRRTS paid homage to its past leaders, including the late Simon Margolis, one of NRRTS’s founders. Margolis served as NRRTS’s President as well as its Executive Director, among his many leadership positions in the Complex Rehab Technology industry.

The meeting was the last official event as NRRTS President for Gerry Dickerson, who served an extra year in office due to the pandemic and is stepping down in August. Dickerson reflected on his time as President and welcomed President-Elect Carey Britton.

Walker also presented NRRTS’s 2022 awards:

Consumer Advocate: Karen Roy

Leadership: Linda Norton, Greg Packer

Distinguished Service: Jason Kelln

Simon Margolis Fellow: Mike Seidel

NRRTS’s summer agenda includes co-hosting with NCART the September virtual Congressional Fly-In, and celebrating CRT Awareness Week next month.


About the Author

Laurie Watanabe is the editor of Mobility Management. She can be reached at

In Support of Upper-Extremity Positioning