Power Chair Soccer World Cup to Be Awarded in July

The Federation Internationale de Powerchair Football Association (FIPFA) 2017 World Cup will be awarded in July to one of 10 teams from around the world.

Teams from Argentina, Australia, Canada, Denmark, England, France, Ireland, Japan, Uruguay and the United States will travel to Kissimmee, Fla., to compete in the tournament, which runs July 5-9.

The United States is the defending World Cup champ and the top-seeded team in the 2017 tournament. Matches will take place at the Silver Spurs Arena, and attendance is free, though attendees will need tickets to enter.

The closing ceremony and awards banquet are scheduled for July 9 at the Gaylord Palms Resort.

Industry sponsors of the World Cup include MK Battery, The MED Group, and U.S. Rehab/VGM Group.

For more information on the tournament or power wheelchair soccer in the United States, click HERE.

About the Author

Laurie Watanabe is the editor of Mobility Management. She can be reached at lwatanabe@1105media.com.

Mobility Management Podcast